ICONIC AWARDS 2024: Innovative Architecture – Call for entries

The registration phase for the international ICONIC AWARDS 2024: Innovative Architecture starts today. The award from the German Design Council honours top achievements in architecture, clever conversion solutions and revitalisations, future-oriented interior and product design, outstanding communication concepts and particularly innovative and resource-efficient materials. The winners will be honoured at an awards ceremony on 7 October 2024 at EXPO Real in Munich, where they will have the opportunity to network internationally.

Architects, engineers, specialist planners, agencies and design offices, companies in the construction and real estate industry as well as manufacturers in the design and production industry are invited to submit their projects by 17 May. A high-calibre international jury will decide on the "Best of Best", "Winner" and "Selection" awards. The special "Architects of the Year" and "Interior Designers of the Year" awards as well as the "Architects' Client of the Year" award will be presented as well. Last year's winners were Sou Fujimoto Architects, Holzrausch and Vestre.

The winning projects and special prizes are selected by a renowned international jury:

  • Daniel Blum, Associate Partner, IttenBrechbühl, Basel
  • Karim El-Ishmawi, Managing Director & Co-Founder, Kinzo Architekten, Berlin
  • May-Britt Frank-Grosse, Editor-in-Chief,baunetz interior|design, Berlin
  • Virginia Lung, Co-Founder One Plus Partnership, Hongkong
  • Carsten Schmidt, Associate Partner,Topothek 1, Berlin
  • Wei Wu, Executive Partner gmp, Shanghai

An award offers the winners the perfect communication platform for their achievements and positions them as pioneering designers in an international environment. For over 10 years, the award has honoured the best achievements of international and renowned architecture firms, promising young designers and leading manufacturers, and every year it highlights significant developments in the architecture industry. The winners in recent years include MVRDV, MAD Architects, Bjarke Ingels Group, Adjaye Associates, HENN Architekten, ingenhoven architects, Hadi Teherani Architects, waa (we architech anonymous), b+ and Muck Petzet Architekten, Christ & Gantenbein, Alles Wird Gut, Studio Besau-Marguerre and Ester Bruzkus Architekten.

Every year, the awards ceremony becomes a meeting place for the brightest minds in the international architecture industry and gives designers and companies the opportunity to present themselves and network.

Important details at a glance

  • Early bird price advantage: until 5 April 2024
  • Registration deadline: 17 May 2024
  • Awards ceremony: 7 October 2024, Munich
  • Further information at: innovative-architecture.de

German Design Council

The German Design Council has been operating since 1953 as one of the world’s leading centers of expertise in communication and knowledge transfer within design, branding and innovation. It is part of the world design community and has always contributed to the establishment of global exchange and networking, thanks to its international offering, promotion of new talent and memberships. With events, awards, jury meetings and expert committees, the Council connects its members and numerous other international design and brand experts, fosters discourse, and provides important stimulation for the global economy. More than 330 businesses currently count among its members.

German Design Council
Alexandra Sender, Head of Communication and Marketing
Phone +49 (0) 69 24 74 48 633
E-mail: presse@gdc.de


Go back